A blog about books. Oh, and some other stuff too.

Top Ten Tuesday: If you liked… Then you Should Read…

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists over at The Broke and the Bookish. They love to share their lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. Are you a blogger as well? All that’s asked is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it!

Today’s Top Ten:

Top Ten Books to Read if you liked…

It’s the most common question I ask someone when they tell me they are looking for a new book: “What was the last book that you read that you really enjoyed?” The answers are varied and interesting, and tell you a lot about that person and what they enjoy. Here, then, are my suggestions for the next books to read once you have finished those popular choices in a slightly different from. Enjoy!

If you read and loved “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins…

The Maze Runner series by James Dashner (Delacourte Press)

Thomas, like the others around him, can’t remember how he came to live in the Glade. All he knows is that he wants to be a Maze Runner, and to represent his friends in the Maze. Unsettling and compelling at the same time, Dashner grabs you from the first line and keeps you on the edge of your seat.

The Leviathan series by Scott Westerfeld (Simon & Schuster)

This series by the same author as the Uglies and the Specials (also well worth reading) is a steampunk retelling of World War II. Clankers use mechanical machines to fight, while Darwinists use natural and genetically bred living creatures in battle. Alek is the fictional teenaged son of the Archduke of Ferdinand, and Deryn Sharp is a Scottish girl who learns to fly. Together, they will work to fight the battles of the greatest war the world has seen.

Across the Universe by Beth Revis (Penguin Razorbill)

When Amy is frozen aboard the interstellar spaceship Godspeed, she expects to be woken in 300 years on a new planet. Instead, someone wakes her up early…and if Amy doesn’t figure out soon, the next people woken up might not survive–including her parents. (blurb from the author’s site).

Cinder by Marissa Meyer (Feiwel & Friends)

(From Goodreads) Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

If you read and loved the “Alex Cross” series by James Patterson…

Stay Close by Harlen Coben (Dutton Adult)

Three people living lives they never wanted, hiding secrets that even those closest to them would never suspect, will find that the past doesn’t recede. Even as the terrible consequences of long-ago events crash together in the present and threaten to ruin lives, they will come to the startling realization that they may not want to forget the past at all.

Moonlight Mile by Dennis Lehane (HarperCollins)

Sequel to the book “Gone, Baby, Gone” (yes, the book that spawned the movie), Moonlight Mile investigates the second disappearance of Amanda McCready, now sixteen years old.

http://bcove.me/3udm4gmr

Not Dead Yet by Peter James (HarperCollins)

If you haven’t encountered Superintendent Roy Grace yet, then this is your chance. The eighth book in the series, it has Grace dealing with a contrary rock star and an obsessive stalker fan.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p00vb9b1

If you an older teen who’s read and loved the “Gone” series by Michael Grant …

Team Human by Justine Larbalestier and Sarah Rees Brennan (Harper Teen)

Remember: Friends don’t let friends date vampires. Mel lives in New Whitby, a city founded by vampires, but she doesn’t actually know any of the blood-drinking undead personally. They stay in their part of town; she says in hers. Until the day a vampire shows up at her high school. Worse yet, her best friend, Cathy, seems to be falling in love with him. It’s up to Mel to save Cathy from a mistake she might regret for all eternity!

Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeiffer (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books)

When a meteor knocks the Moon closer to Earth’s orbit and causing worldwide catastrophes, teenage Miranda is left with her family to struggle to make it out alive. With the weather patterns changing, tsunamis and earthquakes shaking the planet and survival not guaranteed, it will take strength and determination in order to survive.

The Rot & Ruin series by Jonathan Mayberry (Simon & Schuster for Young Readers)

Fifteen-year-old Benny Imura lives in zombie-infected post-apocalyptic America, and it’s time to find a job or his rations will be cut. Apprenticed as a zombie hunter with his older brother, Benny doesn’t expect to find his calling – and something greater when he begins to realize the implications of his job.

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , ,

13 Responses »

  1. Alright it’s official…….I need to read all of these. (I have read Across the Universe and Life as we knew it) but GAHHHH all of the rest sound fabulous. Thanks for sharing such great dystopian/sci fis!

    I also participated in this week’s top ten…I love if you came by and checked it out 🙂 http://rachelwritesthings.blogspot.com/2012/07/top-ten-books-for-people-who-like-sarah.html

    Like

  2. I really need to read The Maze Runner series! I’ve heard so many amazing things about it. And apparently I also need to get my hands on Team Human. I have to admit the cover was originally a turn off for me, but I’ve been hearing non stop great things, so I may have to give it a shot

    Like

  3. Great great list! I love it 🙂 I agree with the ones that I’ve read, for sure.

    Like

  4. I think the trailer for Maze Runner must be the best book trailer I have ever seen. Now I’m even more keen to read it. Say Close also sound thrilling!

    Like

  5. Life As We Knew It sounds good, and my daughter is interested by the Maze Runner book. Thanks!

    Like

  6. Excellent suggestions! Thank you for sharing the book trailers too 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

I’m NetGalley Approved!

I use NetGalley for review purposes.

We Need Diverse Books!

#WeNeedDiverseBooks

Copyright Notice:

© JAH and lostinagreatbook.com, 2011 onwards.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lostinagreatbook.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
All photographs, unless otherwise noted, are taken by @JAH and lostinagreatbook.com, and are not to be copied or used without the express permission of the owner.

2016 Goodreads Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Jenn has read 112 books toward her goal of 125 books.
hide
<a

Instagram Feed

Sitting pretty. #latergram #TroutTrout #catsofinstagram #fluffy #outside #livinglifemyway
%d bloggers like this: