A blog about books. Oh, and some other stuff too.

Blog Tour: Owning Violet by Monica Murphy

81kDwghpE+L._SL1500_New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy begins a sexy new contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—that introduces three sisters born to wealth, raised to succeed, ready to love, destined to make waves.

I’ve moved through life doing what’s expected of me. I’m the middle daughter, the dutiful daughter. The one who braved a vicious attack and survived. The one who devoted herself to her family’s business empire. The one who met an ambitious man and fell in love. We were going to run Fleur Cosmetics together, Zachary and I.

Until he got a promotion and left me in the dust. Maybe it’s for the best, between his disloyalty and his wandering eye. But another man was waiting for me. Wanting me. He too has an overwhelming thirst for success, just like Zachary—perhaps even more so. He’s also ruthless. And mysterious. I know nothing about Ryder McKay beyond that he makes me feel things I’ve never felt before.

One stolen moment, a kiss, a touch . . . and I’m hooked. Ryder’s like a powerful drug, and I’m an addict who doesn’t want to be cured. He tells me his intentions aren’t pure, and I believe him. For once, I don’t care. I’m willing to risk everything just to be with him. Including my heart. My soul. My everything.

Violet Fowler has always been the perfect one – the perfect daughter, the perfect sister, the perfect girlfriend. Except…. she’s not, at least not really. Fed up with being the responsible one at work, the one who covers for her outgoing and outlandish sisters and the one who patiently puts up with her jerk of a boyfriend, Violet is looking for something more, and her desire to take control of her life made me root for her, despite her lack of backbone.

Ryder McKay is the polar opposite. Left to fend for himself, he’s hungry for success and he wants everything – including Violet. Trouble is, he’s not above using Violet to get what he wants. So, basically, Ryder is pretty much a huge alpha-hole for a goodly chunk of the first part of the book. He isn’t terribly likeable, and there was a point where I had pretty much decided that Violet would be best off leaving both of the jerks in her life behind in a cloud of dust.

The more I read, the more I wanted these characters to redeem themselves and each other. It becomes clear that Violet is unsure and insecure due to a trauma earlier in her life, and that gave me more sympathy for her while allowing me to understand why she allowed the men in her life to take over. Ryder eventually turned as well. After reading more about his history with Pilar, and how he managed to build himself up it was clear that he still didn’t value the person he had become. I’m still not entirely sure about him as a character, but I think that’s the point as he will always have to keep proving to himself and to Violet that he’s a better person than he believes himself to be. The use of a dual narrative was a really great way to tell the story, because so much of this book hinges on our knowledge of what Violet is unaware of for most of the book – that is, that Ryder started out with the intention of playing her and then leaving her behind. The shared POV allows us to see just how things start to crumble for Ryder as much as how Violet gains confidence and strength from her own sexuality and abilities.

First books in a series can be tough because there is so much world-building to be done. We’re given a glimpse at Violet’s other sisters – and the focus of the next two books in the series – Rose and Lily. We’re also introduced to Violet’s controlling father, and to the company that means so much to the family. I’m a little unsure about her father and his motivations, but that seems to be scene-setting for a later denouement in a future book so I’ll just leave things where they are for now. I must confess that I kept picturing a major family dynasty cosmetic company such as Estee Lauder as I read the book, and felt that the dramatic tension would have translated incredibly well into a Dynasty/Dallas style TV drama (any suggestions for casting?). Considering the sexy-times within the book, it would definitely have to be an HBO outing!

Want more info? Check out the book trailer below!

Owning Violet will be available for purchase from your favourite retailers on December 2nd, including Kobo, Indigo and Amazon. An e-ARC of this book was provided by Bantam (a division of Random House) in exchange for an honest review and as part of this blog tour. ISBN: 9780553393262, 400 pages. Stealing Rose will release on March 3rd, 2015 and Taming Lily will release on July 7th, 2015

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

I’m NetGalley Approved!

I use NetGalley for review purposes.

We Need Diverse Books!

#WeNeedDiverseBooks

Copyright Notice:

© JAH and lostinagreatbook.com, 2011 onwards.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lostinagreatbook.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
All photographs, unless otherwise noted, are taken by @JAH and lostinagreatbook.com, and are not to be copied or used without the express permission of the owner.

2016 Goodreads Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Jenn has read 112 books toward her goal of 125 books.
hide
<a

Instagram Feed

Sitting pretty. #latergram #TroutTrout #catsofinstagram #fluffy #outside #livinglifemyway
%d bloggers like this: