A blog about books. Oh, and some other stuff too.

March Mystery, Madness, and Mayhem rss

My yearly look at all thing mystery. March isn’t just about basketball, y’know.

WoW: Two Deliciously Different Mysteries for your TBR List

(0)
2016/03/30

A decidedly female Canadian shift to today’s Waiting on Wednesday as we profile new books by Teresa Toten and Kristi Charish, both well-loved authors here on the blog. As a long-time fan of Theresa’s wicked sense of humour, it’s been a revelation to see what she can do with a more adult-style mystery. Charish’ Owl… Read More ›

Review: The Coroner’s Lunch by Colin Cotterill

Laos, 1978: Dr. Siri Paiboun, a 72-year-old medical doctor, has been unwillingly appointed the national coroner of newly-socialist Laos. Though his lab is underfunded, his boss is incompetent, and his support staff is quirky to say the least, Siri’s sense of humor gets him through his often frustrating days. When the body of the wife… Read More ›

Review: A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited not only Sherlock’s genius but also his volatile temperament. From everything… Read More ›

WoW: Two Mysteries You Won’t Want to Miss

Full confession: despite living on my own in the country with the world’s least defensive cat as protection, I love a great ‘middle of nowhere’ mystery. I love that feeling of chills running up and down my back, and how you suddenly jump at every creak and tap. It may be horrible for my sleep, but… Read More ›

Review: The Widow by Fiona Barton

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife. When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more… Read More ›

#TBR Challenge: Julie Anne Lindsey’s Geek Girl Guides

IT manager Mia Connors is up to her tortoiseshell glasses in technical drama when a glitch in the Horseshoe Falls email system disrupts security and sends errant messages to residents of the gated community. The snafu’s timing couldn’t be worse—Renaissance Faire season is in full swing and Mia’s family’s business relies on her presence. Mia… Read More ›

Guest Post: A Mystery Lover Confesses

We are delighted to welcome Lynne from the wonderful blog Words of Mystery as our guest blogger today. Lynne and I first met at a publisher’s event lo so many years ago, and have shared our joint love of mysteries ever since. Lynne also posts a “Mystery Mondays” review feature on her blog that is… Read More ›

#MG Monday & GIVEAWAY: Neil Flambé and the Duel in the Desert by Kevin Sylvester

Neil, “the flamboyant, irrepressible chef” (Kirkus Reviews), hits the road in his food truck and drives right into a new case in the sixth book in The Neil Flambé Capers, the culinary mystery series celebrity chef Gordon Ramsey calls “good fun.” Neil has lost his beloved restaurant. Though he misses it dearly, he and his… Read More ›

Blog Tour: A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

As a fan of Schwab’s amazing world within this series, I was honoured to take part in the book tour for A Gathering of Shadows. Be sure to check out the other stops on the tour! Four months have passed since the shadow stone fell into Kell’s possession. Four months since his path crossed with Delilah… Read More ›

Guest Post: Five Mystery Series to Hook You In

It is my pleasure to host Jaclyn Qua-Hiansen- fellow blogger, Twitter fiend, cat lover and mystery devotee – on the blog today. Jaclyn and I have bonded over our mutual love for Dame Christie, as well as the stylings of Rankin, Leon and many others. Our conversations have included the role of the cat in… Read More ›

I’m NetGalley Approved!

I use NetGalley for review purposes.

We Need Diverse Books!

#WeNeedDiverseBooks

Copyright Notice:

© JAH and lostinagreatbook.com, 2011 onwards.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lostinagreatbook.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
All photographs, unless otherwise noted, are taken by @JAH and lostinagreatbook.com, and are not to be copied or used without the express permission of the owner.

2016 Goodreads Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Jenn has read 112 books toward her goal of 125 books.
hide
<a

Instagram Feed

It wouldn't be a @creemoreontario @curiosityhousebooks book launch without a @creemoresprings beer! @thenewfarmcreemore @randomhouseca #TheNewFarm #BrentPreston #GillianFlies